Applied Physics Graduate Program Overview


(L to R) Xinyuan You, Frank Barrows, Ziwei Wang, Edward Kielb, Trevor LaMountain,

Jack Olding, Katherine Harmon, Everett Vacek, Yaohua Li

The Applied Physics Graduate Program is a hub for collaboration between the departments of Physics & Astronomy, Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Earth & Planetary Sciences, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, and Materials Science & Engineering. This joint program between the McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science and the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences offers interdisciplinary PhD research opportunities for graduate students with a strong undergraduate background in Physics. The program is designed to prepare graduates for professional careers in science and technology, either in academics or in industry. As the distinctions between traditional scientific disciplines become increasingly diffuse, this program seeks to ensure that our graduates recognize and take advantage of scientific and technological opportunities wherever they may arise.

The Applied Physics Program is designed to allow students to complete their PhD studies in as little as five years. Students can complete all of the required courses during the first year, allowing them to fully focus their efforts on research starting as of the second year. Unlike programs based in a single department, Applied Physics students can take advantage of the scholarships, learning opportunities, and other resources offered by both the McCormick School of Engineering and the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences.


Northwestern has a distinguished record of research and innovation in many areas of Applied Physics, spanning multiple departments in the McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science and the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences. Many research programs take advantage of the Advanced Photon Source at nearby Argonne National Laboratory.


Questions about Applied Physics?

Contact us at or 847-467-2834



Congrats to Xiaolong Liu who received an honorable mention in the Science in Society image contest.  See the image here.

Boya Cui (Grayson group) has been awarded a 2015/16 ISEN Cluster Fellowship.  ISEN Cluster Fellows are exceptional students with deep interest in energy and sustainability

Check out the photos of the recent lunar eclipse taken by PhD candidate Guohua Wei that were published in the NU Research newsletter on page 9.

Congratulations to PhD candidate Zonghui Wei (Luijten research group) for being awarded a 2015 Ryan Fellowship!  Due to her research interests, strong background, and exceptional promise as a scholar, she is one of a very select group of students who have been offered this prestigious award.



January 19, 2016